INCOME WITHHOLDING FOR SUPPORT
[Income Execution for Support Enforcement - New York State CPLR §5241; 18 NYCRR §347.9]

State of New York
Date of NOTICE:

Docket Number:
O Original JAmended O Terminated (See item #10)

EMPLOYEE/OBLIGOR

EMPLOYER/INCOME WITHHOLDER |

RE:
TO: Social Security Number:
New York Case Identifier:

| OBLIGEE

(Commissioner of Social Services, Assignee, O/B/O)

Federal EIN:

ORDER INFORMATION: This “Income Withholding for Support” (hereafter referred to as the “NOTICE”) is
based upon an order of support issued by the Supreme or Family Court of the State of New York,

County. You are required by law to deduct the total amount listed below from the income of the employee/obligor
named above until further notice. For an itemized list of payments due, see page 2.

TOTAL AMOUNT TO WITHHOLD: $ (frequency)* - Remit to Payee below

*You do not have to vary your pay period (cycle) to comply with this NOTICE. If your pay period does not match
the above TOTAL AMOUNT payment frequency, withhold one of the following amounts:

If your pay period is: Withhold this amount: If your pay period is: Withhold this amount:
Weekly $ Semimonthly (twice a month) $
Biweekly (every 2 weeks) $ Monthly $

GENERAL REMITTANCE INFORMATION:

e When remitting payments - You must provide the pay date, and the New York case identifier,
employee’s/obligor’s name and social security number, and your company or business name and Employer
Identification Number (EIN). See item #3 on page 2 and #8 on page 3 for withholding limits.

o If the employee’s/obligor’s principal place of employment is located in New York State - You must begin
withholding no later than the first pay period which occurs fourteen (14) days after service of this NOTICE, and
payments must be remitted within seven (7) business days of the pay date for each withholding. You are not
permitted to deduct a fee to defray the cost of withholding.

o |If the employee’s/obligor’s principal place of employment is located outside New York State - You must
begin withholding and remitting payments in accordance with the laws of the state of the employee’s/obligor’s
principal place of employment, and may deduct a processing fee where such laws permit.

PAYMENT OPTIONS

Electronic remittance

e If you wish to send payments electronically via EFT/EDI, call 888-208-4485 to arrange for your first EFT/EDI
submission. You may be asked to provide the following FIPS code . The bank routing number and the
bank account number will be provided to you when you call and arrange for your first EFT/EDI submission.

Check remittance

¢  You must include a payment coupon with every payment.

e  Make all payments payable to: NYS Child Support Processing Center.

e Send payments to: NYS Child Support Processing Center, PO Box 15363, Albany, NY 12212-5363.
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ITEMIZED LIST OF PAYMENTS DUE

Payments Due Frequency Type Support Entry Date Payments Due Frequency Type Support Entry Date

PP PP PP PR
PP PP PP PR P

additional amount n/a

¢ Arrears greater than 12 weeks? [ Yes O No Arrears owed as of are $

Current obligation amount total $ Past due obligation amount total $

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION FOR EMPLOYERS AND OTHER INCOME WITHHOLDERS
State-specific information may be viewed on the OCSE Employer Services website located at:
http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/cse/newhire/employer/contacts/contacts.htm

1. Priority: Withholding for support has priority over any other legal process under New York State law against the same
income. If a Federal tax levy is in effect, please contact the NYS Child Support Employer Helpline listed at the bottom of
page 3.

2. Combining Payments: You can combine withheld amounts from more than one employee’s/obligor’s income in a single
payment to the NYS Child Support Processing Center. You must, however, separately identify the amount of the single
payment that is attributable to each employee/obligor, by providing a separate payment coupon or by identifying the pay date,
New York Case Identifier, county name, name, and Social Security number of each employee/obligor.

3. Reporting the Pay Date: You must report the pay date when sending the payment. The pay date is the date on which the
amount was withheld from the employee’s/obligor’s wages or other income. You must comply with the law of the state of
employee’s/obligor’s principal place of employment with respect to the time periods within which you must implement
withholding and forward the support payments.

4. Employee/Obligor with Multiple Support Withholdings: If there is more than one NOTICE and/or an ORDER against this
employee/obligor and you are unable to honor all such support NOTICES or ORDERS due to federal, State or Tribal
withholding limits, you must follow the state or tribal law/procedure of the employee’s/obligor’s principal place of
employment. You must honor all ORDERS/NOTICES to the greatest extent possible giving priority to current support before
payment of any past-due support.

In New York State, if an employer or income withholder is served with more than one NOTICE pursuant to CPLR §5241,
ORDER pursuant to CPLR §5242, or ORDER/NOTICE issued by another state, and if the combined total amount for the
deductions to be withheld exceeds the limits set forth in item 8, the employer or income withholder shall withhold the
maximum amount permitted thereby and pay to each creditor the proportion thereof which such creditors claim bears to the
combined total. The additional deduction authorized to be applied to the reduction of a past due amount shall be applied in
proportion to the past-due amount owed to each creditor.

5. Lump Sum Payments: You are required to report and withhold support arrears from lump sum payments. If the payments are
for personal services, such as commissions, back pay, or severance pay, the Consumer Credit Protection Act (CCPA)
limitations apply. You must withhold the amount of the support arrears up to the appropriate CCPA percentage. If the lump
sum payment is not made for personal services, such as a benefit, dividend or interest payment, you should withhold the full
amount of the arrears. If you have any questions about lump sum payments or the amount of the arrears due at the time of the
payment, contact the NY'S Child Support Employer Helpline listed at the bottom of page 3.

6. Liability: If you have any doubts about the validity of this NOTICE, contact the NYS Child Support Employer Helpline
listed at the bottom of page 3. If you fail to withhold or remit income as the NOTICE directs, you are liable to the creditor and
the debtor for such failure. Either party may commence a proceeding against you for the accumulated amount you should have
withheld and remitted from the employee’s/obligor’s income, together with interest and reasonable attorney’s fees, and any
other penalties set by State or Tribal law/procedure.

In New York State, upon a finding by family court that you failed to withhold or remit withholdings as directed in this
NOTICE, the court shall issue an order directing your compliance and may direct the payment of a civil penalty to the creditor
not to exceed $500 for the first instance and $1,000 per instance for the second and subsequent instances of noncompliance.

7. Anti-discrimination: You are subject to a civil penalty as determined under State or Tribal law for discharging an
employee/obligor from employment, refusing to promote or taking disciplinary action against any employee/obligor or
refusing to hire a prospective employee because of a child support withholding. In New York State pursuant to CPLR §5252,
the court may direct the payment of a civil penalty not to exceed $500 for the first instance and $1,000 per instance for the
second and subsequent instances of such discrimination.

Continued --»
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11.

Withholding Limits: For ORDERS/NOTICES, you may not withhold more than the lesser of: (1) the amounts allowed by
the Federal Consumer Credit Protection Act (15 U.S.C. section 1673[b]); or (2) the amounts allowed by the State of the
employee’s/obligor’s principal place of employment. The Federal limit applies to aggregate disposable weekly earnings
(ADWE), which is the amount of net income left after making mandatory deductions of State, Federal, & local taxes; Social
Security tax; and Medicare tax. For assistance in calculating the withholding amount, complete the enclosed Withholding
Limitations Worksheet for Support and Medical Support or go to newyorkchildsupport.com to access the Income Withholding
Calculator.

Child(ren)’s Name(s) Date of birth Child(ren)’s Name(s) Date of birth

Effect of Termination on other NOTICES of income withholding: This termination does not affect other NOTICES which
you may have for the same employee/obligor on any different New York Case ID, for which you are deducting and sending
payments to the NYS Child Support Processing Center. Unless you receive a Terminated NOTICE, those deductions, if any,
remain in effect.

Notification of Termination of Employment/Income: You must promptly notify the issuing agency if the employee/obligor
is not working for you, or receiving income from you at the time you receive this NOTICE, or if the employee/obligor stops
working for you, or receiving income from you at any time in the future for any reason. Please complete the information
below and return a copy of this NOTICE to the NYS Child Support Processing Center, PO Box 15368, Albany, NY 12212-
5368:

[_IThis person has never worked for this employer or never received income from this income withholder.

[_IThis person no longer works for this employer or receives income from this income withholder

Employer’s/ Income withholder’s contact name: Phone number:
Employee’s/Obligor’s name: NY case ID:
Date of termination: Reason for termination:

Employee’s/Obligor’s last known address:
New employer’s/income withholder’s name and address:

NOTICE TO EMPLOYEE/OBLIGOR

You are hereby notified that this NOTICE is issued against you as a result of the order of support listed on page 1.

This NOTICE has been served on your current employer(s) or income withholder(s), and the New York State Department of
Labor, with respect to current or subsequent income, and will be served on any future employer(s) or income withholder(s).

You must begin and continue to make support payments by money order or cashier’s check directly to the NYS Child
Support Processing Center until you have determined that withholdings from your paycheck or other income source
have started. Send payments only to the NYS Child Support Processing Center at PO Box 15363, Albany, NY 12212-
5363. Include a payment coupon (remittance) with each payment.

The actions of your employer or income withholder in failing to deduct and remit amounts specified by this NOTICE shall not
relieve you of the underlying obligation to pay support.

If you believe that this NOTICE was issued in error or the amounts are incorrect, you may notify your local Support
Collection Unit (SCU) in writing at the address listed below. You should make a submission of information and evidence by
mail, or in person to support your assertion of an error. Thereafter, the SCU will determine the merits of your objection and
will notify you of its determination within thirty (30) days after their receipt of notification from you.

New York State law requires that if arrears are owed, the amount directed by this NOTICE to be withheld for payment of
support must include an “additional amount” to satisfy the arrears (see “Itemized List of Payments Due” on page 2). If an
“additional amount” is required to be deducted which reduces your annual income below the self-support reserve ($14,620 for
2009), or if other support obligations already bring your remaining income below the self-support reserve, you may contact
the NYS Child Support Helpline to inquire about how to request that the additional amount be reduced. = You may also
contact the NYS Child Support Helpline to request that the additional amount be modified if you have physical custody of the
children for whom this order represents and you have no current obligation amount. Upon your request the Child Support
Helpline will forward a form to you to fill out. Along with the completed form, you will be asked to provide documentary
proof of your claim, including information about your income, such as your most recently filed tax returns and W-2 forms,
current pay stubs or a letter from your employer listing your annual salary and proof of any benefits received

CONTACT INFORMATION

By phone, contact the New York State Child Support Helpline toll free at 888-208-4485 Monday through Friday from 8:00 AM to
5:00 PM.

In writing, contact the SCU, , NY

3 JRE Address Number:
Enforcement Officer:


http://www.newyorkchildsupport.com/



