

New Hire Reporting

Employers serve as key partners in ensuring financial stability for many children and families. New hire reporting facilitates the child support income withholding process, expedites collection of support from parents who change jobs, and quickly locates alleged fathers and noncustodial parents to help in the establishment of paternity and support. New hire reporting helps children receive vital support.

All employers must report each newly hired or rehired employee working in New York State within 20 calendar days from the date of hire.

Definitions:

A *newly hired* or *rehired employee* is someone who:

- Has not been previously employed by the employer; or
- Has been previously employed by the employer but separated from that employment for 60 or more consecutive days.

Hire date is the first day the employee:

- Performs any services for which he or she will be paid wages, tips, commissions, or any other type of compensation.
- Is eligible to earn commissions for services based solely on commissions.

Multistate Employers:

Federal and State law permits employers with employees in more than one state to choose a single state to report all New Hires.

Penalties:

State law allows a \$20 penalty for each employee not reported in a timely manner and a \$20 penalty for each employee for whom the employer fails to file a report showing the required information (e.g. false or incomplete reports).

What Must Be Reported:

New York State requires the reporting of the following information:

- Employee name (first, middle initial, last);
- Employee address (street, city, state, and ZIP code);
- Employee Social Security number;
- Employee hire date;
- Employer name;
- Employer address (street, city, state, and ZIP code);
- Employer Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN); and
- Whether dependent health insurance benefits (family coverage) are available to the employee and if so, the date the employee qualifies for the benefits.

Reporting Methods:

Online: <u>www.nynewhire.com</u>

Electronic: Call the New York New Hire

Employer Outreach Department at (518) 320-1079 for the current

specifications

Fax: (518) 320-1080

Mail: New York State Department of

Taxation and Finance New Hire Notification

PO Box 15119

Albany, NY 12212-5119

Contact Information:

Email: childsupport.fc-ny@xerox.com

Phone: Withholding Tax Information Center

(518) 485-6654